Growing in God's Love as an Open, Caring Community

Episcopal Diocese of Maine’s Standing Committee Appoints Discernment and Transition Committees

From the
       Standing Committee
November 21, 2017
Dear Ones, 
On behalf of the Standing Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of Maine, I’m pleased to announce the newly-appointed membership of the Discernment Committee and Transition Committee in our Quest for the Tenth Bishop of Maine. We are deeply grateful for each person who offered their talents for service.
The Standing Committee received double the number of qualified nominations than we had committee slots to fill. This is a terrific sign of a robust and inclusive diocese! It is our hope that these two committee rosters reflect a balance in the diversity of our genders, ethnicity, stages of life, geographic locations, size of our congregations, and our orders of ministry. 
Discernment Committee
The Rev. John Balicki, Chair, St. Mark’s, Waterville
Mr. Dale Brooker, St. Ann’s, Windham
Mr. Arthur Carter, St. Anne’s, Calais
The Rev. Andrew D’Angio-White, St. David’s, Kennebunk
Ms Lisa Lindsey, St. Luke’s, Wilton
The Rev. Kerry Mansir, Christ Church, Gardiner
The Rev. Ann McAlhany, St. John’s, Bangor
Ms Kenna Haines, St. Luke’s, Portland
Ms Nancy Mooers, Good Shepherd, Houlton
The Rev. Laura Peckham, St. Martin’s, Palmyra
The Rev. Claudia Smith, St. Francis, Blue Hill
Ms Merle Marie Troeger, St. Mary’s, Falmouth
Mr. Paul Wormer, St. Paul’s, Brunswick
Transition Committee
Ms Patricia Buck-Welton, Chair, Sts. Matthew and Barnabas, Hallowell
The Rev. Carolyn Eklund, St. Paul’s, Brunswick
Ms Billie Ellis, Christ Church, Gardiner
Mr. David Fernald, St. Luke’s, Portland
Mr. Fred Fowler, St. Luke’s, Portland
Mr. Philip Hamilton, St. Alban’s, Cape Elizabeth
Ms Lis Ingoldsby, St Brendan’s, Deer Isle
The Rev. Jennifer Reece, Good Shepherd, Rangeley
Ms Linda Roebuck, St. Augustine’s, Dover-Foxcroft
Mr. Mark Spahr, St. Patrick’s, Brewer
The Rev. Susan Taylor, St. Andrew’s, Winthrop
The Rev. Kit Wang, St. George’s, York Harbor
The Rev. Mary Lee Wile, St. Paul’s, Brunswick
We invite the Holy Spirit into our diocesan-wide discernment process and charge the Discernment Committee and Transition Committee to go forth to do the work they’ve been given to do. Together, we commit to creating a process that is transparent, inclusive, and wrapped in prayer. We encourage all members of our diocese to fully engage in this spirited process as it unfolds with God’s grace. 
Our chaplain, the Rev. Cn. Nancy Moore, rector of Christ Church, Norway, has composed a collect our use. We invite you to join us in prayer, now and as a part of your weekly worship in the months to come.
God of Grace, we give you thanks for all of the blessings of our common life and ministries as the Episcopal Diocese of Maine, and for our leaders who are guiding us through this season of change. Grant to the Discernment and Transition Committees open hearts, minds, and spirits as they receive the Holy Spirit’s gifts of faith, hope, and love to aid their work. We ask also that you send courage and vision to our next bishop of Maine as she or he discerns your call. 
In Christ’s Name, Amen.
The Rev. Maria Hoecker
President, Standing Committee
Rector, St. Columba’s, Boothbay Harbor